One Small Hop for a Munchkin…

One giant party for Momma!  Yes, my two and a half year old daughter who could not jump, did so today.  It was a small hop but both feet left the floor and she didn’t fall on her little butt so it counts as a victory in my book.

On the downside, we’re still struggling with food.  I made the sweet potato pizza for A but she didn’t like it very much.  Okay, she didn’t really like it at all.  Given the nature of the dough, it stays rather soft and A didn’t like that.  G, on the other hand, did.  He thought it was really good but said that in needed veggies on top to give it a better flavor.  Oh well, at least one of my kiddos liked it.

After a weeks worth of extra visits for feeding and occupational therapy evaluations and a visit to the nutritionist, I have learned that we are on the right track.  Despite A’s limited tolerance for a variety of foods, we have still managed to give her a somewhat balanced diet.  Is it ideal? No, not really since she neglects whole food groups, but through liberal use of homemade fruit and veggie smoothies she is still getting what she needs.  All we have to do now is up her caloric intake.  Thankfully, it is doable if A cooperates.

Oh, wait, I’m asking for a two year old’s cooperation.  Nevermind.  This may be a bit of a challenge.  That’s okay.  It will just force me to be more creative.  Good exercise for my brain!

Well, I have been attempting to procrastinate again with this blog, but I am so tired after a long day of therapy (A’s, not mine people!) and more paperwork (that I still have to finish) that my spelling is becoming atrocious (thank you spell check for saving me) and my grammer isn’t to far behind.  So before I embarrass myself and anyone who ever taught me (especially my mother) I will leave you with the recipe for the sweet potato pizza if anyone wants to give it a go.

1 large or two small sweet potatoes  (app. 1½-2 cups prepared) peeled, cut into chunks
• 1½-2 cups flour (preferably whole wheat)
• 2 tsp baking powder
• generous measure of basil, oregano and thyme (or other seasoning to taste)
• app 4 Tbsp cold water mixed with 2 Tbsp virgin olive oil

  • Boil the sweet potato in a large pan of water for about 15 minutes until very soft. Drain well, return to the pan and mash with a potato masher until smooth. Set aside to cool.
  • Preheat the oven to 400F. Place sweet potato in a large bowl. Add the flour, baking powder and seasoning.
  • Stir in the water and oil mixture with a large spoon until the dough comes together it should be soft and spongy. Knead lightly to form into a large ball – adding a little extra flour if the mixture seems too sticky.
  • Divide the dough into two equal balls and roll out on a lightly floured board into two circles around 2cm thick. Lift carefully onto two lightly oiled baking sheets. Brush lightly with oil. Spread one of the pizzas with your choice of sauce and toppings.
  • Place both pizzas in the oven, with the topped pizza above the plain base. Bake the topped pizza for around 25 minutes until well risen and lightly browned. Cook the plain base for 15 minutes until golden and cooked then remove and allow to cool.
  • Once cool, top with sauce and choice of toppings, cover loosely in foil and freeze on the tray. The next day remove from tray and wrap tightly in foil. To cook, remove foil, place on a lightly oiled baking tray and bake from frozen in a preheated oven at 400F for 15-18 minutes until hot.

Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 06:56:05

    It is not unusual for children to state that a parent is their hero or role model. I must diverge from the norm (which is so the usual in our family). My daughter is my hero. For those of you following her blog, it should give you an inkling as to why. Now, before I embarrass myself with tears, babbling incoherently, and over the top emotional rantings, I will sign off. Maybe, at some point, I will elaborate in a way that will give due honor to my beautiful daughter.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

