Hey Look! More Paperwork!

Do I sound excited?  I should.  After all, who doesn’t love a good dose of paperwork to fill out in the evening?  The kids are asleep, it’s raining, there’s nothing better to do right?

No, wait.  I think I could find a game on Facebook to play, or maybe send my sister annoying messages on Skype, or maybe clean my bathroom again, just for fun.  Well, skip the bathroom – I think I would rather do the paperwork.

What paperwork?  Oh, sorry.  I’m easily distracted tonight (Peanut Gallery – HUSH!).  Just more patient and feeding history forms for A’s feeding evaluation on Tuesday.  I’ve been spoiled recently by not having to do these when she needs a new therapy since the office we go to has everything already in her chart.  Unfortunately, the ONE feeding therapist in the office moved to a new satellite office so we have to go to the main ACH campus for feeding therapy now.  That, lamentably, means I actually have to do the paperwork this time.

Feeding therapy?  What’s that?  Yeah, I had the same reaction the first time we went down this road.  I mean, how do you do therapy on eating?  It depends.  The first time we had feeding therapy, A had an oral-motor delay, meaning she didn’t chew properly.  Actually, she didn’t really chew in the traditional sense at all.  So, her therapist taught her how to chew.  It’s hard to explain exactly how that worked but it involved a lot of sticking a Nuk brush (for those that don’t know what that is – http://funandfunction.com/nuk-massage-brush-p-505.html ) in A’s mouth and getting her to “chase” it with her tongue. We also worked to “desensitize” her mouth so she would tolerate the texture of solid foods.

This time, it’s mostly about her sensory issues and seeing if in a therapeutic environment we can work more intensively on getting her to accept a wider variety of foods.  She also needs help with “feeling” where food is in her mouth.  Sometimes, A has no idea where her food is in her mouth or how much she has in there causing her to either gag or sit there with her mouth open and tongue out until I clean the offending item(s) out.  Not so much fun for either of us, to say the least.

All this and a visit to a dietician somewhere in there!  Yay paperwork!  Okay, not really.  I admit, I’m using this blog as a means of avoidance right now.  “I don’t want to do the paperwork, so I’ll write on my blog instead.”  Works for me!  I had to switch over after I got done hunting up recipes to try on A and her brother, but I did find some goodies.

There is the fairly common Kale Crunchies – toasted, seasoned kale leaves; and of course, sweet potato crisps, but the one I was after was the sweet potato pizza base. And I found it!

It’s nothing fancy, just pizza crust made from sweet potatoes instead of the standard semolina flour, but I wanted to try it out since it would be a “sneaky” way of getting A to eat veggies.  Let’s face it, she loves pizza, as long as it is cheese and isn’t a piece so long that it sags.  Basically, if it’s longer than about 5 inches and anything other than cheese and light pizza sauce has touched it, she won’t eat it.  Rather funny, don’t you think?

Anyhow, it’s a fairly easy recipe and thanks to the personal size pizza pans my mom found, I’ll be able to make and freeze some so I have something on hand to feed A, just to add variety.  I plan on seeing if I can add other veggies to the dough if A likes the basic recipe. Things like carrots that can be cooked to mush and mashed up with the sweet potato so they won’t be too noticeable.

I hope.

Of course, never having tried this recipe I might find out that it’s absolutely horrid (to quote my son) and in major need of improvisation to make it edible.

But I think I’ll be positive.  It’s much easier.

Sigh.  Enough procrastination.  Back to the paperwork I go…or maybe I should just go to bed early tonight!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. american airlines arena address
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 09:58:27

    Everything said was actually very reasonable. But, what about this?

    suppose you composed a catchier post title?
    I am not suggesting your content is not good., however suppose you
    added a title that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean Hey Look! More Paperwork! sensoryadventures is kinda vanilla. You ought to look at Yahoo’s
    front page and watch how they write article
    headlines to grab viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would bring your website a little bit more interesting.

    Like

    Reply

    • sensoryadventures
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 20:06:42

      Thank you. I appreciate you feedback. While I understand that the title may have seemed “vanilla” to you, it simply described how I was feeling about what I was facing. Living with and working with a child who has special needs is not always fireworks and sprinkles and I don’t intend to sugar coat or spice up what I write; be it headline or content. These posts deal with the heartache, joys, and sometimes boring, tedious bits that I face day to day.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

