Monkey wrenches and other hiccups

With the arrival of Memorial weekend comes an increase in reminders that hurricane season is “just around the corner!”  That also translates to time to start making sure you have emergency supplies on hand.  Normally,  I wouldn’t think twice about what we would need.  I mean, enough canned food and water per person to last 3 days.  Not a big deal right?

SCREECH!  THUNK!

That would be me realizing that I have a child that will not eat anything that comes out of a can, except certain fruits.  But only if they are cut in nice little bite sized bits.  Oh, and don’t have too slimy of a texture.  They should be sweet too.  But not too chewy or too crisp.

Yeah…this year is going to be more difficult than I thought.

Realizing the extreme limits of my daughter’s textural tolerances when it comes to food has led me to adjust most areas of planning for things.  Sadly, for someone who has lived in a hurricane prone state her whole life, the thought of how I would have to adjust emergency planning never entered my head.

I think on some level when we started this adventure I bizarrely hoped that we would wake up one morning and she would be “normal”, at least with food.  Even knowing that my child would spend the rest of her life with sensory issues, I still would, forget I think is the best word for it.  It’s not quite denial but it is those moments when acceptance is harder than normal.  When you want to cry and scream at the injustice of a child, your child, having to live with something that makes their life so much harder, until that moment when you realize that they don’t see themselves as different.  That they don’t see this as an injustice.  That, to her, she is just A.  Her mommy’s little monkey.  Her daddy’s little girl.  Her brother’s playmate and, occasionally, his annoying little sister.  That, more than anything else, is what gets you through the day sometimes.  All the advice and support in the world can only get you so far.  It’s those moments when you realize that, to them, they are “normal” that can get you through the tougher moments (even if they do seem to last for weeks on end).

So, I’ll take a deep breath, go back to making my hurricane emergency box list and hope I never have to actually put it to use.  But I’m still stocking up on peanut butter, crackers, and pediasure  just in case.

Leave a Reply

