Indy Cars and Spring Break Lessons…

Sounds like an interesting time, doesn’t it?  Sadly, a lack of internet and Spring Break, but mostly the lack of internet,  got in the way of my posting.  But, I’m Back!  Thank you!  Thank you!  I’ll be here all week and then some!

Okay, now that we have that out of the way…

The past couple of weeks have been a learning experience for all of us.  With my son’s Spring Break falling the week before Easter I decided that it would be a good time to find out just how much stimulation A could stand before she went into meltdown mode.  Sound like fun?  Well, sarcasm aside, it actually was a lot of fun.

We started the “stimulation overload test” (not very original, I know – I’ll work on it for round 2) with a day at the IZOD Indy Grand Prix.  It’s something we take G (our son) to every year (thank you Dad for the tickets!) and I decided to take A this year.  Amazingly, it went very well.  A loved seeing the Indy cars, waved to a few drivers, and got to spend time with some family and friends.  Granted, she barely ate while we were there, but I figure that eating four (yes, 4) yogurts and drinking a Pediasure over the course of the 6 hours we were there is a marked improvement over past excursions.  The best part of all?  Both kids were so tired by the time we got home that bed time was a breeze!

We followed this adventure up with visits with grandparents (both sets), a trip to Busch Gardens, and swimming at a friend’s house.  Things were going pretty well at this point.  She hadn’t had a melt down, was eating her usual foods pretty well and even ventured to try out a french fry.  She didn’t make it past the first bite, but she tried it so I was happy (G wasn’t, but since she had stolen one of his fries can you blame him?).  Then we hit the Spring Break halfway point, and boy, did she ever hit it.  To say she had a melt down would be grossly understating things (and gross pretty much described her place after most meals…after she upended the dish of food she refused to eat).

After about 3 days of doing….wait, what did we do?  Oh right, NOTHING!  I really could not expose the public to my child at this point.  It would have been considered cruel and unusual punishment, for the rest of the world, had I taken her out somewhere.  The poor baby could barely tolerate her brother saying good morning to her without covering her ears and crying.  At least G understands what’s going on and doesn’t take it too personally when A does that, otherwise she would give him a complex with the number of times she has cried when he looks at her or talks to her.  Although, the one thing she did seem to tolerate well was music.  Specifically, Celtic Thunder.  Anything else seemed to set her off, but Celtic Thunder has a calming effect on her, except for the times when she was dancing to their music.  It worked like mini therapy for her little neurons.

For those who haven’t heard of Celtic Thunder, they are a group of 5 guys from Ireland (and Scotland) who perform a mix of traditional Irish/Celtic music and some more contemporary pieces as well.  They are fun to listen to and watch (if you want more go to www.celticthunder.ie).  No, I’m not affiliated with them in any way, my kids and I just happen to like their music, and the affect it has on my sanity.  Moving on…

Suffice it to say, we made it through the rest of the week (barely) and by the end of the weekend A was back to her old self.  I don’t know if the rest of us have recovered yet or not…Stay tuned for further adventures!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline Cleckler
    May 07, 2012 @ 21:00:36

    kee up the superior work. someday you will end up a rock star.

    Like

    Reply

  2. round school
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:22:58

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

    Reply

  3. wechsel pkv
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 02:59:22

    Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your submit is just spectacular and that i can assume you are a professional in this subject. Well along with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to keep up to date with approaching post. Thank you a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

    Like

    Reply

    • sensoryadventures
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:36:29

      Thank you very much. I am not a professional in this subject. I’m just a parent who has made it her mission to learn as much as possible in order to help my daughter cope with her issues. I do appreciate the compliment though.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

