Greetings Wide and Wonderful World!

Yep, I have a blog.  Why?  Because I watched A Smile as Big as the Moon tonight, cried my way through it and ended up here.  Could be worse I suppose.  For those who are confused, the movie was based on a true story about the first group of special education students to attend Space Camp.  As a result, for the first time in a year, I cried about my daughter.  I have a child with special needs.

My daughter, my youngest, was born with something called Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD).  She was not diagnosed until she was 15 months old.  At 12 months she was diagnosed as “failure to thrive” because she wasn’t gaining weight.  Well, she wasn’t gaining weight because she couldn’t eat.  Think of all the standard foods that you would feed a 1 year old.  My daughter choked on almost all of them.  I had a 1 year old who was still eating stage 2 foods and no idea why or what to do for her.

After a going through feeding therapy and learning that she had delayed  oral-motor skills, I began to “take inventory” of anything else that we had just dealt with but maybe wasn’t considered “normal development”.  Turns out there was quite a list.  As a result my husband and I have spent the past year running her to therapy appointments and working with her to gain the bit of progress we have made.

But with all that, tonight was the first time I was actually able to sit down and have a good cry over what this all actually means.  Is it the end of the world?  No, not by any stretch.  It has meant some pretty big changes and a whole lot of improvisation (I knew all those theatre hours would come in handy someday!)

I’m not looking to accomplish much with this blog. I think it’s more a place to put some thoughts out there and maybe collect some new ideas to handle the challenges we face and will be facing as she gets older.  After all, the “terrible twos” are hard enough on their own, but add in textural aversions, tactile and auditory sensitivity, and a whole host of other interesting issues and not even Excedrin makes a pill strong enough for that headache!

Leave a Reply

